Revelation of the Mystery of the Church     Ephesians 3:1-13

 

The mystery = how do people who have never heard the good news of Jesus Christ change their lives – God’s supernatural transformation. 

A person who has an empty life has the emptiness filled as they encounter and embrace a personal relationship with God through Jesus Christ.  

Paul was a living proof of how this mystery takes place and was commissioned by God to share this message with everyone (the whole world)-especially Gentiles 

Paul considered this the purpose for his life.  He ate, slept and worked for the fulfillment that everyone would have a life transforming experience with God through the power of Jesus Christ. 

This is a portion of my personal commentary on Ephesians.  This text on the mystery of God explains how God can love me, embrace me and call me despite me. Who am I to represent such a loving, forgiving and compassionate God? This fact and reality humbles me as a preacher every time I begin to pray and study for bible study or a sermon.  The arrogance that I see in so many preachers appears to be self centered.  Lest I be judgmental since God is constantly transforming me to be how can you preach an be stuck on yourself.   How do we balance the ego necessary to listen to people’s criticism, complaints and condemnations against being selfless to believe that the message, ministry and moment is all about us?

 

Being a disciple of Jesus Christ demands transforms attitudes, behaviors, disciplines, expectations and beliefs constantly. The disciples would not have survived the three year training period if they were not being transformed and changed from the inside.  The outward manifestation was their ability to be the apostles that we read about in the book of Acts.   Transformation happens as we study the Word and engage the Biblical text in conversation with the world that we live in

