RENO, Nev. – Thirty years after it began as just another quirky movement in
Berkeley, Calif., the push to ban smoking in restaurants, bars and other public places has reached a national milestone.

For the first time in the nation’s history, more than half of Americans live in a city or state with laws mandating that workplaces, restaurants or bars be smoke-free, according to Americans for Nonsmokers’ Rights.
Read the rest of the story

This article is inspiring for me.  I believe that Maryland can also be a smoke free state!! As a faith and health public theologian I am convinced that clergy have a direct responsibility to engage this issue within their church and through the public policy.  Second hand smoke is not a great side dish to my meal nor is it aromatheraphy as I am moving in and out of public places.

