Albert Mosley, Feb 15, 2007 albertmosley.gif

 

You have often heard it said that there are at least two sides to every story. This is certainly true when it comes to history. The problem, however, is that very often only one side of history’s story is ever told.

This is particularly the case in the American educational system. There is a fairly high probability that the history lessons most of us received in primary and secondary schools was history that told only one side of this country’s story. This was definitely the case for me.

I vividly recall my childhood days in the Mississippi Delta, and the many stories involving this nation’s development. I also vividly recall wondering where people who look like me fit into this grand scheme of America’s history.

Were there no characters in this story whose hue was like mine? Were there no heroes or she-roes in this story whose hair was the same texture as mine?

VIEW THE ENTIRE STORY

