SOPHOS SYMPOSIUM

Applying Wisdom to Life

Question Series: Time Stewardship

 

Question 1

 

We are discussing a series of questions relating to the topic of Time Stewardship.   How we spend our time can be the difference between a great Christian leader and a good one.  Here is the first question in this series:

 

The role of a pastor is said to be a 24 hour job.  What are some practical steps you take as someone in ministry to guard your time with family and other priorities?

 

I begin each week planning on date night with my wife and play time for my daughter.  I schedule my devotional time when everyone is asleep early in the morning or late at night.  When we are in the van together I will not talk on the cell phone but if I am commuuting alone I use this time to catch up with church members who missed worship or arrange discipleship meetings with the leadership.  Friday is my day off with few exceptions.  I attempt not to watch news or weather on the television but I will read the front page of 3-4 newspapers online each morning. 

 

What can I do better?  Intentionally plan more time for exercise and involve more laity in pastoral visits to the congregation.

 

For a highlight and summery of this question offered to great Christian leaders around the world visit SOPHOS

The Sophos Symposium was started by Phil Ogilvie to help apply the wisdom of great leaders to life.   For an overview of how the Symposium operates, click here. 

