I am not a professional fitness coach. I am an overweight middle aged African American male who refuses to be a part of the negative health statistics.

  • Black men live 7.1 years less than other racial groups
  • Black men have higher death rates than women for all leading causes of death
  • Black men experience disproportionately higher death rates in all the leading causes of death
  • 40% of black men die prematurely from cardiovascular disease as compared to 21% of white men

http://menshealth.about.com/od/blackhealth/a/Af_amer_stats.htm

I ultimately need to 80 pounds to be in the healthy range so I am beginning the journey by losing 10 pounds in 30 days. I am inviting friends and family to join me and to hold me accountable. Ultimately I am developing new lifestyle disciplines for healthy living. I am having my annual physical this month. I will have my cholesterol, sugar level and prostate checked. I am going to learn new ways to eat. I love fried food and for 30 days I will not eat fried food. I loved pastries and for 30 days I will not eat candy, pastries or add sugar to my coffee. I will drink 8 glasses of water for 30 days and walk at least 1 mile a day and exercise 3 times per week in addition to walking.

I invite you to join me.