How can a young person live a clean life? By carefully reading the map of God’s Word. I’m single-minded in pursuit of you; don’t let me miss the road signs you’ve posted. I’ve banked your promises in the vault of my heart so I won’t sin myself bankrupt. Be blessed, God ; train me in your ways of wise living.  Psalm 119:9-11 MSG

It is not unusual to see someone chatting in a coffee shop and texting at the same time. It is also not unusual to see a mother walking her child in a stroller and listening to a book at the same time. My favorite is watching college students study, listen to music and eat pizza with our missing a beat. Multi tasking has become second nature and we are constantly acquiring tools to become more efficient at juggling the many demands and desires of our lives.

Multi tasking is not what we are called to do to have a healthy relationship with God. To be in single minded pursuit of God we have to reprioritize our purpose. Our total being and only agenda should be about being in relationship with God. Our parenting should honor God. In the workplace we should be ambassadors of God’s grace. In our neighborhood we should be carrying the light of God.

Eliminate distractions – Everything is not important and some activities do not add value to your life

Study God’s Word- A daily time of reading and studying the scriptures develops our relationship with God

Experience your God given propose – Explore your spiritual gifts and identify the ministries and activities that God has wired you to excel at.

Prayer:  God ,illuminate the distractions in my life so that I can remove them and focus my life totally on you