Refocus

Then Jesus explained, “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing his work… wake up look around, the fields are already ripe for harvest.”  John 4:34 & 35b

Sometimes it is easy to lose sight of the real task at hand.  I get caught up in visiting sick folks, preparing sermons and teaching Bible studies… attending meetings and organizing teams.  Important stuff for a Pastor!  The days tick by and we lose momentum as our focus is decidedly internalized.  We miss that sense of satisfaction in ministry and we miss God’s goal for the community.

If we were to REFOCUS and concentrate with equal intensity on what is happening out in the fields/neighborhoods (like the Samaritan village that was converted after one woman’s encounter with Jesus), maybe we would better understand what God is doing and would find greater satisfaction in ministry.  Jesus found fulfillment and satisfaction from doing his father’s work, which was all about the mission field and the harvest.  Jesus knew what was really important and didn’t get lost in expectations of people or job descriptions.  His focus was always and only on the task God was leading him to.

I want that kind of confidence and courage.  To just go and do the thing I think God is calling me to.  Even if no one goes with me… even if it has nothing to do with my “day job”… even if it is hard or scary or messy… to do God’s will and finish God’s work in the field… not in my office.

Prayer for the Day:  Dear God, we are so glad that Jesus came to teach us about your will for the world.  We know that the fields are still ripe for harvest, but we don’t venture out into the fields as much as we should.  Give us the confidence and courage to spend some time in our fields, at the well, in the jail or at the coffee shop… wherever your spirit leads us.  Help me to REFOCUS on the world outside of the church and do what you call me to do.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Rev. Angy Trimmer
Craft UMC
Columbia TN